Skip to content
March 23, 2013 / TAB

Citerna- It caught my eye

Image

Oh, yeah!

You know how it goes. You’re going somewhere and see a sign and think, “hmmm, that looks interesting”, and then you find yourself headed in a new direction. 

Image

This cinched it

After finding a parking place, I entered the old walls.

Image

Image

Image

I found a little angel at the theater

Image

and a covered street

Image

Image

Then a poster intrigued me

Image

What treasure could be found in this little place?

So I stopped by the church of San Francesco and the official got the key to let me in

Image

Unfortunately, the church is now kept locked since the recent theft of of 3 precious relics from the altar. They are also very protective of the wonderful treasure so recently discovered and restored.  An art student who was doing some research, thought she recognized some characteristics of Donatello in a very ugly statue which had been tucked in the back of this church for years. After calling in an expert, it was certified as a work of Donatello and lovingly restored. The official told me that I could download photos from the websites of the restoration. I used my best sad puppy eyes and she let me take my own photo.

Image

I didn’t press my luck to get more detailed photos but the gold and silver leaf used in the details was so intricate and delicate it was breathtaking. To have this special work to myself for as long as I wanted was incredible.

The story of the discovery and restoration can be found in several articles which you will need to run through a translation program if you don’t read Italian.

http://donatelloaciterna.it/it/opera.php

http://tinyurl.com/d828voh

2 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. Paula / Mar 23 2013 12:54 pm

    This is a beautiful statue and it is so good that it was discovered and restored. I am sure that you enjoyed this experience! You are having some great travel adventures.

  2. ytaba36 / Mar 24 2013 12:20 am

    I’m glad you took that detour!

Leave a Reply

