Skip to content
April 9, 2012 / TAB

Spain- Magic in the night garden

As I was walking around late at night to get my bearings for the next day’s sites, I was drawn by a blue lighted tower. When I went closer, I could see that it was part of the Alcázar de los Reyes Cristanos. The door was open and a special guided tour was being offered. Sign me up! The guide was actually to prevent you from wandering off and getting lost in the dark or falling in the dim path lighting.

While some fountains and water features were lit, others were just gentle noise in the backgrounds. Soft flamenco guitar music flowed out of discrete ground speakers. In one flower planter, frogs were part of the musical chorus. As we progressed into the main garden, water fountains danced in colors, watched over by the Kings of Spain.

More pools and more colors brought more magic. I don’t think I’ll return in the daylight.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Videos can be seen at:

Water and light show at Alcazar in Córdoba, Spain, pt 1

http://youtu.be/3aQfC614WU8

Water and light show at Alcazar in Córdoba, Spain, pt 2

http://youtu.be/UWtlKjhJoFs

Water and light show at Alcazar in Córdoba, Spain, pt 3

http://youtu.be/dReLZMkHceY

Music is by Vincente Amigo.

3 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. Paula / Aug 29 2012 3:34 pm

    I like the colorful lights with the water. I remember that the city has beautiful lights at night.

  2. Paula / Dec 1 2012 7:46 pm

    Just looking at your photos again. It is fun to revisit and notice new things.

  3. Jeannette Vivere / Jun 4 2014 1:28 pm

    Oh I must see this and hear the guitar music 🙂

Leave a Reply

