Skip to content
March 21, 2011 / TAB

Paris- Remembering the Holocaust

Day 2

I offered my niece a “passport trip” to anywhere she wanted to go and she replied that she had always been interested in the Holocaust. I knew that there were places in Paris that remembered this terrible time and wanted to work them into this trip.

So the first stops began with visits to the Memorial de la Shoah (no photos allowed) and the Deportation Monument. The biggest impact on me at the former was the large 6 pointed star with an eternal flame marking the burial site of ashes of victims gathered from various concentration camps. In a small room nearby are rows and rows of file boxes with the registration cards from the camps.  Also moving was the walls of names of the 76,000 people deported from France, 11,000 of children. Of that number deported, only about 2,500 returned. (http://www.memorialdelashoah.org/getHomeAction.do?langage=en)

Next , I was off the the Deportation Monument on the Ile de la Cite, behind Notre Dame. When I was here last year, I could never find it open but this time I was better prepared. As you descend the steps, the surroundings slip away, leaving you with only blank walls, the sky, and a small look at the river all of which represents the isolation which the deportees felt. Then you enter a narrow corridor, beyond which you can see a memorial to the unknown and beyond that a room filled with 200,000 crystal lights, 1 each for the deportees who died in the camps. On the side walls are triangles which represent the marks the symbols worn as identification by the Jews and containing the name of a concentration camp.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Footsore and weary, I headed back to the apartment to plan out the next day’s adventure.

This blog is a journey with a steep learning curve. Hopefully I’ll learn how to format things better. More photos will be on my regular photo pages when I return home.

2 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. ytaba36 / Jun 10 2011 2:56 am

    I think that my sister, son and I saw the Deportation Monument on the Ile de la Cite, in 1977. If that is, indeed, the same place you visitied, it has haunted me since then. I must look online to see if this is the same memorial

  2. ytaba36 / Jun 10 2011 2:57 am

    I think that my sister, son and I saw the Deportation Monument on the Ile de la Cite, in 1977. If that is, indeed, the same place you visited, it has haunted me since then. I must look online to see if this is the same memorial

Leave a Reply

