Skip to content
March 20, 2011 / TAB

Paris- The Marais

Sunday is a good time to spend in the Marais. The streets are closed to car traffic and shops are open. People are out and about with kids and dogs. the Jewish Quarter is humming. this Sunday was a holiday (Purim) and kids were in costumes and men were wearing funny hats or wigs. I didn’t see any women dressed up. (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Purim) Some young men were giving out little packages of treats, confetti and a toy, if you said you were Jewish. I wanted to know what was in the bags but was afraid the there’d be a “password”.

It was a day for just wandering and watching the street theater. A particularly poignant sight was an elderly lady shuffling along one painful step after another to return to her apartment after a morning out. She was dressed well and would switch her cane to her outside hand so she could pull herself along the building wall. A younger woman came by and offered to help her and accompanied her for a few steps until she reached the apartment door. I offered the help her with the large door and was waved away. Such pride and independence!

Time for a museum. The Musee Carnavalet caught my attention on the last trip but I didn’t go in. It houses the “history of Paris” and is a lot to take in, so little bites is the way to go. I started with my favorite, the archeology bits with the pre-history and Roman finds. Then returning through rooms of historic furniture and past many, many, many paintings it was time to find daylight. I wanted to go into the garden you could see from the windows but the entrance was hidden to me.

Out to the church of St. Denis where the American Choir of Paris was giving a performance. There was one young boy whose voice just soared through the church in a haunting manor. You’ll have to wait for the video until I can load it to my regular photo page. (I’m not paying WordPress $60 for the video upgrade!)

During the walk, I passed a bear shop. A nice young bear, named Romeo, asked if he could accompany me on my travels as he had heard about Ted and Licorice and their travels and companions. I believe he is an Italian bear who came to visit cousins and got trapped in the shop.  He is now with me and hopefully he will be able to meetup with Ted and Licorice someday.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

 

2 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. Jeannetta Vivere / Mar 24 2011 2:03 pm

    Romeo I’m so happy to meet you 🙂

  2. Jeannetta Vivere / Mar 24 2011 2:43 pm

    I visited this museum after Kathleen left Paris (prior trip we took)….I did not get nice photos tho with my old camera 😦

Leave a Reply

