Skip to content
February 18, 2011 / TAB

My Lucky Day

Today I went to the Museo Archeologico Nazionale which I had skipped on the last visit and regretted. I bought an Arte Card which got me in free and a discount on the audio guide (which I didn’t use very much). All the wonderful things I wanted to see were open today. I started with the the Villa dei Papiri rooms from Herculaneum and the exhibits from the Getty Museum since they were going to be closed in the afternoon. There were lots of guards in the rooms which was a good thing because the map they give you is useless. They were very friendly and helpful and were even willing to take photos of folks in front of various displays. There was no place that I couldn’t take a photo.

I started with the sculptures and the Getty vase collections, which lead to the Pompeii frescoes, the Pompeii model, and finally the Secret Cabinet, with its “erotic” art.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

At the end of 3 hours of wandering around with my small day pack, seen by several guards, one very officious woman came up to me and told me I’d have to go back and check my bag. Many women had purses larger than my bag but she was insistent. So I left without seeing most of the Farnese sculptures. That will be another day.

Wandered back to the hotel to regroup, grab an umbrella, and went out for lunch at another Vesi location. The streets of Old Naples were calling and so I headed off. Stopped in at the Capella Sansevero for a repeat visit. My ArteCare got me in with a discount. A large group was just leaving and I had the place to myself for several minutes. No photos here. Took a chocolate break at Scaturchino’s in P. S. Domenico and headed in the general direction of “over there”. Got as far as San Gregorio Armeno before the rain began to comedown heavier and forced me homeward bound. Spotted some Venetian mask shops that will perfect for my homework assignment for class when I return.

Day 1:
* no one was interested that I took out money from the ATM
* I was not run over by cars or Vespas on the sidewalks or in the streets
* I was able to cross streets without the help of nuns
* My purse and camera remained with me at all times
* All financial transactions were made honestly and I received correct change at all times
* I was not crushed by mounds of garbage

Okay Naples, I’ll give you another chance tomorrow

PS. Formatting on this site is work in progress and things don’t work the way I think they should. Sorry if things don’t line up nicely. I’m still learning.

4 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. thesavvysilkie / Feb 18 2011 1:31 pm

    >Trish, this is terrific!

  2. Jeannetta Vivere / Mar 24 2011 2:32 pm

    I missed the Pompeii exhibit but did get to Farnese, so I have something on my list too 🙂

  3. Maxine / Mar 27 2011 4:32 am

    Your doing a great job. I’m enjoying your report….Last year when I got to Naples while on my cruise. Everything was closed…I was so bummed. It was a Tuesday…..

  4. barbara / Mar 30 2011 11:20 am

    This is great, I enjoy your posts, you write very well.
    You were indeed lucky…You know I don’t think Napoletani qualify as Italians, right….?

Leave a Reply

