Skip to content
October 10, 2008 / TAB

Dolomites

Bolzano was the first stop on my trip to the Dolomites. They were having their fall festival with displays in the Piazza Walther Platz. I was struck by the very Germanic feel to the town. The building style reminded me of Switzerland. The area is supposed to have the highest concentration of castles and they are everywhere you look. I took the free shuttle bus from Piazza Walther Platz to the Schloss Runkelstein/Castel Roncolo.

From Bolzano, I moved to the Hotel Digon in Ortisei. It was a wonderful place to which I would love to return in the spring when the wild flowers are all in bloom. The folks at the hotel were warm and welcoming and I had wonderful meals and a large room with a balcony which had a view of the town and mountains. I stayed there 2 nights, spending the days riding the lifts and gondolas,  walking around the areas at the top of the lifts, and then taking afternoon drives through the passes.

For my last night in the area, I moved up near Bressanone to St. Andrea where some friends were staying. I found it easy to drive outside of the cities and fairly easy to find parking. This was a gorgeous area with a recent snowfall making the mountains sparkle in the sunshine. I lucked out with great weather.

Leaving Bressanone, I headed out for a night in Como before meeting friends at the Torino airport for the next chapter in this adventure, the Alba Truffle Fair.

Leave a Reply

